Northern Territory

Northern Territory

Flag Adopted: 1 July 1978
Flag Proportion: 1:2
Use: State and Civil Flag

The Northern Territory was founded as a Federal Territory on 1 January 1911, but its first flag was not hoisted until self government was attained on 1 July 1978.

The flag was designed by Robert Ingpen, a Victorian illustrator, and incorporates both the Territorian colours and floral emblem. In the centre of the fly is a stylised Sturt′s Desert Rose with seven petals on an ochre field. At the hoist is the Southern Cross in white on a black panel.

Note that the Southern Cross is of the Victorian form, with the number of points on the stars ranging from five to eight.


Australian Flags
Department of Administrative Services, Australian Government Publishing Service, Canberra, 1995.

Flags and Arms Across the World
Dr Whitney Smith, McGraw-Hill, New York, 1980.

Flags of Australia (chart)
John C Vaughan, Standard Publishing House, Sydney, 1983.

Breitling replica watches breitling transocean replica breitling chronomat b01 gmt replica breitling chronomat b01 replica watch breitling bentley tourbillon replica Replica Watches Audemars Piguet Replica Watches