The Competition

Ausflag launched the The Australian Flag Professional Design Competition and Exhibition on 28 July 1997, with entries closing on 14 October 1997.

Entries were restricted to members of the following professional design organisations and other professional designers as invited by the Executive Director of Ausflag:

  • The Design Institute of Australia
  • The Australian Graphic Design Association
  • The Royal Australian Institute of Architects
  • Australian Writers and Art Directors
  • The Australian Textile Design Association
  • The Flag Society of Australia
  • The Society of Interior Designers of Australia
  • The response was tremendous, with nearly 3000 entries received.

The best 100 entries, as chosen by the Assessment Panel, were exhibited Australia-wide in leading art galleries in a travelling exhibition, commencing in Perth and Sydney on Australia Day 1998 and finishing in Melbourne in December 1998. The designs will also be displayed at "Sydney Design 99".

Members of the public voted for their preferred designs either at the galleries or via this web site. The top 20 designs, as voted by the public, were announced on 26 January 1999. The top 10 designs, as chosen by the Assessment Panel, were announced on 1 May 1999. The Assessment Panel contacted these designers and made a final choice as to the best designs. The overall winners were announced on Australia Day, 26 January 2000. For the winners there are prizes of Apple Computers and Xerox printers. But the real reward is glory.

We gratefully acknowledge the support of our sponsors, Apple Computer Australia Pty Limited, Salmat Pty Limited and Fuji Xerox Australia Pty Limited, who have provided substantial resources and funding, without which the competition would not have been possible.

We also wish to thank the above Professional Design Organisations for their assistance, encouragement and support for the competition. We thank you for your involvement in what we expect will become a significant part of Australia′s history.

Nick Greiner Co-Chairman
Nicholas Whitlam Co-Chairman

Breitling replica watches breitling transocean replica breitling chronomat b01 gmt replica breitling chronomat b01 replica watch breitling bentley tourbillon replica Replica Watches Audemars Piguet Replica Watches